Loading tires with Propylene Glycol

/ Loading tires with Propylene Glycol #1  

Wyld Bill

Silver Member
Tractor
Mahindra
Ok I am new to tractors. I just learned today what "Loaded tires" meant.
Actually I grew around & using tractors but never paid any attention to the details.
Anyways I was thinking. I get free Propylene glycol quite often through my HVAC job. Would this be good to use? I was thinking mixed deionized water to -10F or lower & then the tire filled with dry nitrogen gas instead of regular air.
What do you guys think?

/ Loading tires with Propylene Glycol #2  
That's the same stuff as in anti-freeze, so it should work. I would just use tap water and go down to 10F lower than the area gets.

jb

/ Loading tires with Propylene Glycol #3  
The drawback of using it is when you have a tire leak, (and you will!!), the stuff gets into the soil, and is a problem. Unleashed pets also tend to find it kind of tasty and it will kill them. There are safer methods, but in your case, not cheaper methods.
David from jax

/ Loading tires with Propylene Glycol #4  
I think ethylene glycol is the stuff that kills pets, while propylene glycol is relatively non-toxic.

/ Loading tires with Propylene Glycol #5  
I was thinking mixed deionized water to -10F or lower & then the tire filled with dry nitrogen gas instead of regular air.

If it is really free, why not mix it for the lowest freezing point you can get?

I can just imagine a snow storm followed by a hard freeze, and just when you want to clear your roads, you can't if you mix it for anything less.

A quick check shows that you can go to a -55 degrees F freezing point with 60% propylene glycol, and best of all, the density is slightly higher than plain water.

Not as high as a calcium chloride solution, but a whole lot less corrosive.

/ Loading tires with Propylene Glycol #6