Welding brackets on tractor frame

/ Welding brackets on tractor frame #1  

Buggs67

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kioti 2014 CK2510 TLB
I'm new to welding and just got an arc welder. I want to weld some brackets on the tractors frame and I don't want to damage any electronics. Do I need to disconnect the battery? Both terminals or just NEG?

/ Welding brackets on tractor frame #2  
Tag for interest as I'm also too chicken to weld on the tractor itself.

/ Welding brackets on tractor frame #4  
I'm new to welding and just got an arc welder. I want to weld some brackets on the tractors frame and I don't want to damage any electronics. Do I need to disconnect the battery? Both terminals or just NEG?

/ Welding brackets on tractor frame #5  
Put your ground clamp close to the point you are welding on.

Current will flow between the arc point and the ground clamp.

You should be fine. No need to disconnect the battery.

In theory there will be a voltage drop between the arc and the ground clamp, and this voltage could drive currents to flow elsewhere, but unlikely, as such currents would see the path of minimum resistance, which is between the arc point and the ground clamp, and not flow elsewhere to any significant degree.

edit: Actually it is the voltage that drives the current flow, and saying the currents would see something is rather simplistic, but actually that is the apparent result at the end of the day...

/ Welding brackets on tractor frame #6  
Depends on the age of the tractor. If the tractor has IC control modules, best to pull the battery ground to be safe. Same with welding on a car or truck.

/ Welding brackets on tractor frame #7  
It's usually easier to pull the ground cable off, then to replace parts.
With the ground clamp close to the working area you usually will not have any problems,
but electronics are funny critters what never bothered for years can be destroyed today doing the same thing.