GC2400 Front Drive Leak

/ GC2400 Front Drive Leak #1  

walhondingMF

Silver Member
Tractor
2012 MF2400
I am new to the front drive system on the subcompact tractors, including my gc2400. I changed the fluid before the mowing season. Over the summer, there was a little fluid seeping out around the fill cap, but nothing significant. I am used to seeing that kind of thing on other machines. Just yesterday, I noticed a very small spot on my garage floor on the opposite side. The seal where the where the hub spins on the axle arm (not sure how else to describe it) seems to have developed a small leak now. Nothing all summer, especially when it was warm and in use. Other than normal use, is there a reason why it would start leaking now? I don't think its bad enough to worry about, but that's why I am asking.

/ GC2400 Front Drive Leak #2  
how many hours on tractor and on last service did you SPECIFICALLY clean the left front axle fill point/plug ?
its very easy in any system to create leaks if the vent not cleaned, on GC series the vents are part of the fill plugs, easy way to tell is they have a slant at bottom. for your front axle its the left side plastic thing.
pretty sure when speak of fill cap you mean this but...you never mentioned cleaning it...and it IS your vent

/ GC2400 Front Drive Leak
I don't remember cleaning it but it may haven been working fine until now. Maybe picked up some dirt and is forcing fluid out the seal. I will check that first thing. Thank you

/ GC2400 Front Drive Leak #4  
Clean off the area of the leak to determine the source. I have had loader hose leaks that have dripped on to the axle. If you not sure of the axle fluid level, post a picture. The gears inside should not be completely covered.