Price Check 353 Capability & Price?

/ 353 Capability & Price? #1  

chazzy

Bronze Member
I will be visiting a TYM dealer for the first time this coming weekend, and I've been eyeing on 353 (because of 0% finance for 60 mo). I talked to the dealer owner and he recommends a gear drive instead of HST for the work I would do - clearing brushes on 5-acre field using a 60" New Holland 918H flail mower (see photo). I've been using a 1973 Ford 2000 3-cyl diesel for a several years, but that needs to be retired/gone now.

> What would be a typical selling price of a new 353 (gear) with a FEL?
> Do you think 353 would have a sufficient power to pull the 918H?
> Do you think gear drive would be better for this kind of job than the HST?

Any suggestion/input that would help my tractor shopping would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• New Holland Flail Mower 918H 60.jpg
    New Holland Flail Mower 918H 60.jpg
    20.8 KB · Views: 207
Last edited:
   / 353 Capability & Price? #2  
back in November I was quoted $21500 for a gear model w/loader - but that was before the dealership had an idea of when they'd actually be showing up.
no clue what you'd be looking at now, sorry.

/ 353 Capability & Price? #3  
I bought 330 HST (33 HP, three cylinder Kubota diesel) about 18 months ago for 22000 including all taxes, a bush hog, box blade, post hole digger and front loader. So far it has about 120 hours of mostly FEL work without problems. Only complain I would have is low quality of paint on the operator platform and cylinders.

/ 353 Capability & Price?
I just got a call from the dealer I would visit this weekend and he gave me a rough estimate for a 353 gear unit he has in his shop. He said w/ a FEL, it would be about $19.5K before tax. I will go check it out. I will compare that with Kioti CK35 that I will also check out.
Thanks for your input gents.

Chaz

/ 353 Capability & Price? #5