Rear Counter Weight

/ Rear Counter Weight #41  
I am not an engineer but I believe it depends on where the center of mass is.

I believe your scenarios are only correct in the case where the rear wheels lift off the ground.
No....my scenario is correct regardless.

Take my second example of 500# ballast, 2500# tractor, and 800# up front and rear wheels in the air. Total weight is 3800 all borne by front axle.

Now take 5 pounds out of the loader. Just enough so rear tires touchdown.....

You still have WAY more load on the front axle than with no ballast. Simply because the loader can lift so much less.

While my numbers are just examples and not real world numbers for any specific machine....the theory is 100% correct.

/ Rear Counter Weight #42  
No....my scenario is correct regardless.

Take my second example of 500# ballast, 2500# tractor, and 800# up front and rear wheels in the air. Total weight is 3800 all borne by front axle.

Now take 5 pounds out of the loader. Just enough so rear tires touchdown.....

You still have WAY more load on the front axle than with no ballast. Simply because the loader can lift so much less.

While my numbers are just examples and not real world numbers for any specific machine....the theory is 100% correct.

I believe once the rear wheels touch down that the center of mass starts moving to the rear of the front axle.

But rather than debate it, I'll ask an engineer I know how he sees it.

/ Rear Counter Weight #43  
I believe once the rear wheels touch down that the center of mass starts moving to the rear of the front axle.

That part is correct.

The center of mass starts moving rearward.

But with a max load I. The loader and only barely enough weight to keep the rears planted....the center of mass is still WAY too far forward.

Curious to see what your "engineer" friend says. He will either agree with what I said or he will be wrong😉

/ Rear Counter Weight #44