Loader joystick cable break

/ Loader joystick cable break #1  

mechtheist

Silver Member
Tractor
Branson 3520H
You can see the problem in the photo, it's a 3520H. It's the bucket control line, I can curl in but not out, at least I don't have to worry about the bucket falling to the ground.

OK, this may be a monumentally stupid question. I've read a number of threads here about replacing the cable and it seems like it ain't exactly a piece of cake. Considering what you can see here, would it be possible to weld the thing well enough to work? I have no experience with this stuff so please don't laugh too much if that's an idiotic idea. The last 4 or 5 times I had the tractor out, the joystick was kinda stuck, didn't want to move to the right to curl out, and I sorta hit it, with my hand and not very hard at all, and that freed it. I should have stopped using it and figured out what was going on.... Thanks for any info.

Attachments

• DSC05562-c.jpg
    DSC05562-c.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 156
   / Loader joystick cable break #2  
That is unfortunate for sure. I can not think of a good way to fix that cable. Replacing the cable may be somewhat of a pain but I think less of a pain than trying to fix that one.

/ Loader joystick cable break #3  
I think welding it would do more harm than good.

I don't think the rest of that area would take well to that much heat being applied there.

/ Loader joystick cable break
It would just be the cable ends getting hot. From another thread, Cougsfan posted this photo. My thinking was to just turn eveerything right at the junction of the end piece and the cable into one chunk of metal. And add in the usual massive grinding that comes with being the expert welder that I am.

Attachments

• IMG_20180403_174127856.jpg
    IMG_20180403_174127856.jpg
    293.2 KB · Views: 159
   / Loader joystick cable break #6  
I would just put it back together and crimp it. But I have the tools to do it.

/ Loader joystick cable break