Wooden Fence Posts

/ Wooden Fence Posts #1  

Medic6340

Tractor
TYM T25
New member, & First Post. I’ve searched the forums, but it seems like I’ll need some time looking around before I know where to look. I’m looking to put in a couple hundred wooden fence posts, and am not interested in pounding them in by hand (I know, I’m lazy) , and feel that an auger is probably more then I need. What about a bale spear or a hollow piece of well casing pipe fastened to the FEL , would the down pressure of the loader (maybe some ballast weight in the bucket) be enough to push the spike or casing into the ground so I could then push a sharpened wooden post in?

Thanks in advance, and don’t worry about hurting my feelings…. I’m a total newbie to farming 🙂

/ Wooden Fence Posts #2  
I guess it would depend on how hard your ground is.

Can you rent a post pounder from any equipment rental shop nearby?

/ Wooden Fence Posts
We are on marsh ground, so soft clay. And there are no post pounders in any of the rental locations near me, I’ve already called and asked.

/ Wooden Fence Posts #4  
Rent an auger for a day or weekend?

/ Wooden Fence Posts
I’m planning on buying a PTO auger anyway, but it seems like a bit of overkill to auger 200 holes. I look all around me and see posts on the marshes that have been there for a hundred years, and know that they were pounded in by hand and a heavy fencing maul. So now trying to put a 2022 spin on the chore.

/ Wooden Fence Posts #6  
We installed 40 9’ reclaimed railroad ties 3’ deep in 1 day including adding 1 bag of concrete mix to each Post hole. Buried them flush the next morning in a couple hours. Monday morning we stretched 6’ chain link with the old Ferguson.

/ Wooden Fence Posts #8