TC33DA leaking hydraulic oil

/ TC33DA leaking hydraulic oil #1  

tom_k

I have a New Holland TC33DA, HST & SuperSteer, 149 hours on it. Complete newbie to hydraulic systems (my previous tractor was an old 8N).

I started it up this morning in 31 degree weather.
After operating for about 10 minutes, I noticed fluid spurting down around the HST filter. I assumed it was coming out of the filter and replaced the filter. Went to top off the hydraulic/tranny oil and was surprised it took 2 1/2 gallons to come up to level.

Re-started the tractor. After about 5 minutes, fluid is spurting all over the engine compartment. It is about the color of butter, and seems to be coming out of the left side of the shoebox-sized part that looks like a small radiator. Would this be a hydraulic fluid radiator that has blown a leak?

I had lept this tractor in my garage its first year. Last few months it's been out in the weather. I suspect moisture has gotten into the hydraulics.

Can anyone tell me what I seem to be dealing with, and how to fix? The radiator where the leak is appearing looks like it'd be easy to replace.

/ TC33DA leaking hydraulic oil
I've determined the leak (or one of them) is in the oil cooler so I'll replace that.

Meanwhile, what's the best procedure to flush the water out of the hydraulic system? I thought I'd drain it all, change filters, add cheap hydraulic oil with a bottle of iso-Heet (water remover), let it stand, drain again, and add good oil.

/ TC33DA leaking hydraulic oil #3  
Be sure you didn't just bust a hose on the hyd oil cooler. If you have two 90 degree hoses connected to the oil cooler, you have the model that's prone to these hose elbows bursting. NH has a kit that includes 2 new hard lines and 2 straight hoses.

NH has issued a different hyd filter (the one near the right rear wheel) that handles high start up pressures in cold temps.

BTW, these problems are well known in the NH Owning/Operating forum. :)

MikePA said: