Shield gas mixer

/ Shield gas mixer #1  

TMGT

Elite Member
Tractor
B2620
I have a need for at least 3 different gas mixes for my mig and don't feel like having 3+ different dedicated bottles laying around when some aren't used very often.

My common mixes are 75/25, 85/15-95/5 and straight argon for the spool gun.

I was planning on just using one of my 330 for straight argon and a 120 for CO2 and getting a Smith mixer to simplify things.

Smith says accuracy within 2%, anyone have any experience with the mixers and how well they work?

/ Shield gas mixer #2  
I ran TIG a lot when I worked as a Pipe welder back in the last millennia and I am getting a TIG rig for free and will be buying a bottle for pure argon. What would happen with MIG if using 100 % argon rather than 75/25 mix. I have never tried it before so I dont know if it would work or not. I am like you, dont want to have to buy two bottles but would like to use MIG and TIG if 100% Argon would work, otherwise I would have to just use FCAW and my TIG. I dont need to weld much so a bottle would last a long time so demurge on a rented bottle would eat up the cost quickly.

/ Shield gas mixer #4  
Wait for yomax4 to see this. He will have good answers for you.

/ Shield gas mixer
What! You don't have one BB? I find that hard to believe.

I figured yomax or Mark@everlast would chime in sooner or later.

/ Shield gas mixer #6