Polebarn lean-to posts

/ Polebarn lean-to posts #1  

fishpick

Platinum Member
Tractor
L4760 & BX24
In the next month or so I think I'll be starting on my lean-to on my barn - since the estimates I have gotten from contractors are ridiculous compared to the amount of work to do.
Anyhow - I'm just gonna do it myself after I draw up some plans and get them off to the town for a permit.
So - my question starts with the main posts... Anyone have opinions about using the backhoe to dig the holes for the timbers? I know most contractors would use a big auger - but since I have a BH and no PHD - I don't see any real issue... comments?

/ Polebarn lean-to posts #2  
You have to consider what those posts do. The obvious answer is that they hold up the roof. So digging a hole with a backhoe and putting the post in that hole seems feasable. The other function of the post is to hold the roof down during a wind storm. This is where I think you might run into problems. The upward force on the roof during a windy day is tremendous!!!!

Having the post in a hole that is solid all the way around lends tremendous strength to the pole. Packing soil or pouring concrete locks that post in place. If you dig that hole with a backhoe, you will make it very dificult to lock that post into place, unless you use concrete to fill in the entire hole.

I think it would be cheaper to hire out the holes to be drilled with an auger or rent one versus paying for all that cement.

Eddie

/ Polebarn lean-to posts #3  
You bring up a valid point, Eddie. Wouldn't a Wacker compactor achieve the same results for a much lower rental fee? I am facing the same dilemma.

/ Polebarn lean-to posts #4