Old Victor Torch

/ Old Victor Torch #1  

downsizingnow48

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B21
I've got my Dad's old Victor o/a torch and regulator setup (cutting and welding). It is on an oxygen and an acetylene bottle that are also very old but still have gas. I just dragged it out of a back room, it has not been used in decades. I want to see if it still works. I don't have a clue if it is safe though. Can it catch on fire if the seals are bad?

/ Old Victor Torch #2  
I have 30 or 40 year old Victor o/a torch setup. It has worked for many years. I have had the regulators rebuilt at my local LWS. They do it inhouse. When my regulators went bad they just started leaking all my gas out. Just don't use any oil or grease around the torch or regulators. I am no pro but I have used Victor for a long time.

The 3 or 4 times a regulator went out they always went out before I lit the torch. They seem to go out when I open the valve and you can hear the regulator leaking plus the gas gauge is going down.

/ Old Victor Torch #3  
Pat, when you open the valves, make sure both regulators are backed off (stem of the regulator loose) then crack the valve(s) SLOWLY, til you see the first pressure gauge show pressure (if it will) - if you hear any hissing at this point, you have problems. Close the tank valves and check things out further.

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT, WITH NEW OR OLD O/A GEAR, HAVE ANY BODY PARTS IN LINE WITH THE REGULATOR ADJUSTERS WHEN OPENING TANK VALVES - if the diaphragm in a regulator is stress cracked, the sudden surge of pressure can rupture and the regulators stem (tee handle or knob) can blow out of the case like a gun shot.