MT357 bending parts on 3pt

/ MT357 bending parts on 3pt #1  

PeteN

Silver Member
Tractor
John Deere 2020 LS MT357HC
I've had a couple of parts bend on the 3pt sway arms when using my King Cutter 6' brush hog. I've been using this same cutter on my JD 2020 for the past 20 years and never have had any issue with it on that tractor. The first part to bend was the actual multi-hole bar. I was able to straighten and reuse. This time the bolt/bracket that attaches the sway bar to the lifting arm bent. Always seems to happen on the right side. I'm cutting all kinds of terrain including sidehills and flat areas and am wondering if the side loads are creating the problem for this tractor. Is this a weak point? I don't want to stiffen these parts up as I'd rather sacrifice them then break something more meaningful. Once it bends it no longer maintains the position of the implement and there's not a lot of clearance between the tire and the lift arm. I've attached a few photos to show the damage on the right side vs what it should look like as well as my setup.

Attachments

• IMG_0181.JPG
    IMG_0181.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 119
  • IMG_0182.JPG
    IMG_0182.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 122
  • IMG_0183.JPG
    IMG_0183.JPG
    3.1 MB · Views: 113
  • IMG_0184.JPG
    IMG_0184.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 119
   / MT357 bending parts on 3pt #2  
How much side to side play to leave when you set up the cutter? Do you manage to get it without any side play?

While some of the parts do look slightly on the thin/flimsy side for what they do, I think you need to leave some side to side play. Mostly because the pivot for the lower arms is not perfectly inline with the pit for the telescopic stabilizers, this means the as the 3 pt raises as lowers, it will pull the arms sideways leaving it with some side to side play or completely tight and eventually bend something.