Local Tractor Dealer Recently Dropped Yanmar..

/ Local Tractor Dealer Recently Dropped Yanmar.. #1  

treedawg

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota M6800, Yanmar YM2000
Local Tractor Dealer Recently Dropped Yanmar.

Is anyone else seeing this where they live?

I own an old Yanmar which I love but always thought the brand to be a rather small niche market.

I had a feeling this was going to happen after I stopped by my local dealer and looked at new Yanmar tractors. I was more than a little surprised when I learned they were higher than similarly equipped but much better known brands like Deere and Kubota. You can put forth an argument that they are better than Deere or Kubota but that matters little if nobody is willing to buy them.

I'm not a marketing expert by any means but it seems Yanmar failed to think through their entry/reentry in the US market.

Not a Mahindra fan but they literally flooded the market with tractors priced well below comparable Deere, Kubota ETC when they entered the US years ago. Mahindra is here to stay for the foreseeable future.

td

Last edited:
   / Local Tractor Dealer Recently Dropped Yanmar.. #2  
J-D recently dropped the local dealer. 'been at it over 50 years. The rumor was the "facility" wasn't modern enough. Now, there are no J-D dealers near by. Go figure how that works.

/ Local Tractor Dealer Recently Dropped Yanmar..
That's not quite the same as the dealer dropping Deere.
GM did what you describe at the local long time Chevrolet dealership. It was an extremely old facility and GM told the owner which upgrades he needed and he refused. GM revoked his franchise and he reopened selling used cars then later shut down completely. This according to someone I knew that used to work there.

td

/ Local Tractor Dealer Recently Dropped Yanmar.. #4  
I'm seeing a general shake out in various lines of business...