Fruit Trees Planted

/ Fruit Trees Planted #1  

KennyG

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 2320
Not exactly sure where this should go but I decided to put in a few bare root apple and cherry trees this year. I'm not too experienced in this area but if I have nice blooms in the spring and feed the deer it will probably be worthwhile. :) I planted them in an area that does not have water access so I rigged up a barrel to go on my forks. I put fencing around the trees to keep the deer away for a few years and mulched around them. I'm using buckets with a hole drilled in it to water slowly enough it doesn't wash anything away. I put them in about a month ago and they have all budded out, so - so far so good.
orchard1.jpgorchard2.jpg

/ Fruit Trees Planted #3  
I put in about 1200 bare root seedlings last year. Mostly choke cherry, hybrid chestnut, and mulberry. I figure on about 50% attrition as I am not going to water them. I'm hoping, if I can ever get around to it, to put in a few mature persimmons and Dunstan Chestnuts.

Check with your local NRCS office. They may have a program to cost share on trees.

/ Fruit Trees Planted #4  
We have planted many different fruit trees here. Always make sure if they require a cross pollination tree close by, some don't require it. I have a IBC tote in a remote area to use as a water source, Good luck !

/ Fruit Trees Planted #5  
Mulberry may be the worst tree ever. Horrible things that multiply randomly and are nearly impossible to kill. They're nothing but giant weeds. Same with Persimmons. I cut those down by the dozens and they keep coming back. They also draw the webworms in late Summer. Some so bad the whole tree looks like one big web.

/ Fruit Trees Planted #6  
Are you guys using forks for the IBC

My brother plans to set on up using his Kubota RTV900

I'm thinking this is quite a load and he does have some steep areas plus the 900 isn't exactly a powerhouse.

/ Fruit Trees Planted #7