Custom Baling

/ Custom Baling #1  

matt21

Bronze Member
I'm in northeast Oklahoma and looking to start custom hay baling. I have about 9 years experience on tractors. Is it profitable? Or is it not worth the trouble?

Thanks

/ Custom Baling #2  
What type of bales and what type of operation are you looking to do?

I know of people who make a lot of money just going non stop during hay season pulling a large square baler. All they do is bale for others and they can cover a lot of ground every day. The one makes enough money during hay season that he can relax and play with a hobby during the winter.

You can make money doing custom work but if you are looking at doing all the work then you will want advice on how to cover yourself if the crop gets ruined by rain. You would then have problems trying to schedule every one so that you can get all your customers hay off before it all goes to seed. I tried doing this my first year (only I was doing my own hay and decided I would take on a couple small jobs for some extra income), it was a headache as if I was not on their field doing their hay then they were mad (they don't care if you have your own hay to do). After the first year I decided it was easier to do my own hay and sell it and not worry about too much custom work. I do custom baling for straw as I am usually done with first cut hay so that works into my schedule well.