Block heater

/ Block heater #1  

Massey convert

Bronze Member
Tractor
Massey Ferguson 2605 H
Hi everybody, newbie here.
I'm facing my first winter in Wisconsin with a new Massey Ferguson 2605 H, it has a Simpson SJV 326 engine, it's my first diesel, and I am concerned about COLD temperature starting, does anyone know what specific heater is recommended and where it needs to be installed? I'm reluctant to have the dealer do it, for a few reasons, including the price. I have been using and maintaining an Allis Chalmers WD for about 40 years, so I think I should be able to tackle this installation. Maybe I'm concerned about nothing, but even if it will start without one, a block heater will make cold weather starts easier on the engine, battery, and starter.
Thanks for any help you can lend me.

/ Block heater #2  
If you leave your machine outdoors make up and engine and rad cover. My preference is using a lower rad hose heater. Support your local tractor dealership. Get a timer for your setup.

/ Block heater #3  
I've found that a lower radiator hose heater is an easier install and does a good job. However - I've never used either type heater around here. Thirty eight plus years and everything starts up just fine and nothing broken nor worn out. My tractor is stored in an unheated car port. I used the lower radiator hose heater when we lived in AK.

Remember - if you don't make the install correctly with either type, you can loose vital engine fluids. I agree with mikester - support your local tractor dealership.

Why is it .... folks buy a nice, new tractor and then they want to squeeze the pennies.

/ Block heater #4  
We had a lower rad heater on our 1972 220D Benz. Worked great on a -22 F morning in Vermont.

Had a freeze block heater on our 1983 240D Benz that we had for 25 years. Didn't use it much unless the wife wanted instant heat when pulling out of the garage.