Woods Mower

/ Woods Mower #1  

yomax4

Elite Member
Tractor
ISEKI TA 247. Stihl Saws Gravely Zt's Polaris ATV's State Of The Art Welding Equipment
I feel dumb asking this but Its a first for me. I have a 28hp 4x4 Tractor and I picked up a 60" Woods Dixie Cutter. I plan to use it for the first time in my life and I wanted to ask if there is anything I should know about running this thing. I plan to grease the shaft, Hook up and engage the PTO and away I will go I hope. Would you pro's say that thats all I need to do? Im a 1st time tractor owner and feel kind of stupid asking basic questions.
( never used PTO):eek:
Thanks in Advance.

/ Woods Mower #2  
I am no Pro, but I always throttle down before engaging the PTO...probably worth mentioning.

/ Woods Mower #3  
What condition is the blade in? Do you know when the last time it was sharpened?, odds are it could probably use a sharpening. Wouldn't hurt to get under the deck to at least make sure the bolts that hold the blade on are tight. Grease everything on the cutter, spindle, rear wheel and pivot, pto shaft. When you go to engage the pto, idle down to say 1500 - 1700 RPM and then engage it. This way there won't be a lot of sudden shock that could damage the mower or tractor. Also, when you engage the PTO make sure your in an area that won't create any resistance to the blade since it isn't up to speed yet, such as super tall grass or etc.

/ Woods Mower #4  
I would make sure the PTO shaft is the proper length to be run on your tractor. Too long or too short could get expensive.:(

/ Woods Mower #5  
Small thing is to check to see if there's a plastic sleeve on the pto shaft and see if there's a small light duty chain with a clip. If there is, that clip & chain must be clipped to something to keep the plastic from spinning with the shaft.

/ Woods Mower
Fantastic help. Im unsure how to know the correct length of PTO Shaft. I have a Grey Market Tractor that is a close cross to a Massey 1240.