Tricks to make you welds stronger

/ Tricks to make you welds stronger #1  

muddstopper

Veteran Member
Tractor
Ventrac, Steiner
Seems lots of folks, and I am including myself, need help sticking two pieces of metal together. Nobody wants to have to weld it twice, but just dont know what it takes to make a weld strong. This isnt limited to wire, stick or tig. And shouldnt have anything to do with 120v or 220v. Just a list of some of the things that should be done before the first arc is struck. I'll let someone else start the list.

/ Tricks to make you welds stronger #2  
Clean off any rust, oil, mill scale off the pieces to be welded and...grind a spot for your ground clamp!

Sent from my iPhone 5s 64Gb using TractorByNet

/ Tricks to make you welds stronger #3  
I'm just an advanced beginner but have learned to use enough power to assure good penetration of the weld.

/ Tricks to make you welds stronger #4  
Know what the composition is of the metals you are attempting to join. Different metals require different procedures to successfully join.

/ Tricks to make you welds stronger #6  
1. Thoroughly cleaning the two pieces to remove anything on it other than bright metal is the best few minutes you can spend to begin to make a good weld.
2. Keep all the wind off the weld during the welding process to avoid porosity, don't let water contact your weld whether rain, snow or other moisture from condensation (dew).
3. A little preheat on cold mornings to remove the moisture is best.
4. Use properly stored rods, damp rods don't usually make good welds.
5. Grind out any slag inclusions prior to making the next pass.
6. Set the amperage correctly, too many or not enough and you will not have the strongest weld. The rod should start easily and not stick but it should not be so many amps that it is blowing off buckshot and the electrode is glowing red when half burned.