Took the plunge -- and dove deep

/ Took the plunge -- and dove deep #1  

huckflynn

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2660
After many weeks of information gathering and price shopping I was hung up between a JD 425 and a Toro 5xi to handle my 5.25 hilly acres and 420' sloping driveway (wanted a 2 stage snow blower and a 50" to 60" mowing deck).

To help me decide I posted a message seeking opinions at gardenweb.com. The JD425/Toro options soon faded in favor of the Simplicity Legacy or, for just a thousand more, the Kubota BX2200. Believe it or not, I had never heard of Kubota. I'm a computer programmer, who, until a couple of months ago, lived on a small city lot.

I finally decided on a Kubota BX2200 with a 60" deck and a 50" snow blower. It would be a few weeks before the dealer could deliver. In the meantime, this guy named Roy invited me to visit this little forum over here. Good idea. Read about the fuel tank problem and the 3 pt hitch problem -- making sure they are not problems before I take delivery.

I also started reading about other stuff. I was already in deeper than I had planned -- but what the heck, the Tim Allen side of me kept saying "front end loader -- oh yeah -- let's move something!" I found all the justification I needed in this little place -- so I called the dealer back and had him add the "FEL" (hey I catch on fast!)

I've been coding computers for over 20 years -- way too long in the virtual world. It's time to get my hands dirty in the real deal.

I may need some help. Looks like I'm in the right place.

Huck

/ Took the plunge -- and dove deep #2  
Huck,
This is only the start of fun for you in mother earth sand box,and as time goes on you will wonder why you didn't do this before./w3tcompact/icons/wink.gif

Yes one can learn a lot from this website as I have,and the people here are truly delightful so thats why I park my coffee cup here./w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif/w3tcompact/icons/wink.gif