Stuck in gear until engine is off, Ford 3600

/ Stuck in gear until engine is off, Ford 3600 #1  

Forder

Tractor
Ford
Your help is always appreciated!

Ive been running this old ford hard for almost two years now. Its done a perfect job until recently.

Now old blue wont shift out of gear. I haven't tried High (5,6,7,8) out of fear but I know for sure that when I put my clutch in, and shift into 1,2, or reverse, the tractor will immediately start moving (without releasing the clutch). Then no matter what I do I cannot shift it out of gear. Only after I kill the engine can I "persuade" it back into neutral with a heavy nudge.

One mechanic says the clutch is gone.
Another person says its the shifter or the little springs that snap into the rails.

Either way is there a simple way to find out without cracking it in half?
NH has a part#83407013 rail spring which I am hoping is the little devil.

You expert advice is always welcomed,
thanks, Hawaii Forder

/ Stuck in gear until engine is off, Ford 3600 #2  
I'd say it has to do with the clutch. It seems that even when depressed the clutch is still engaged. This creates pressure in the transmission gears making it hard to take out of gear. Once shut off the pressure on the gears is released and you can get it out of gear as you have found. You need to adjust the free play. If left like it is the clutch will wear out.

/ Stuck in gear until engine is off, Ford 3600 #3  
Has it been parked for a while. Sounds like the disc is stuck to the flywheel. Check for free play in the rods activating the clutch. Could also be the pilot bearing is stuck in the crank shaft. Look to see if it has an inspection cover somewhere and let us know what you see.

/ Stuck in gear until engine is off, Ford 3600 #4