Set my FEL expectations

/ Set my FEL expectations #1  

nate0918

Tractor
Bolens H16XT
Noob to tractors here. I would like something to move materials around the house as well as a 3acre lot I have. I only have access to the 3 acres with something 4ft wide max. Previously, I've used my uncles bobcat 632 that weighs 4k to move loose dirt around. I was very underwhelmed by its performance. I could barely fill a half a bucket of loose dirt before it didn't have the weight to push into the pile to make the scoop. Wheels were spinning on hard clay ground but couldn't push in to the dirt to take a bite. Lifting no problem. If I'm looking at a garden tractor with an FOL 4ft wide range, I'm envisioning only being able to scoop soft mulch or leaves. How far off base am I?

/ Set my FEL expectations #2  
Not that I am an experienced operator, but, watching the guys who are I learned a valuable lesson: loosen the pile before trying to scoop. That is, climb up toward the top and back drag down the pile to loosen. Then pick some up and move it.

Maybe you are doing that already. But I found I could get a full bucket on my 33hp Massey if I would take the time to "loosen up". Seems I have been really tightly wound lately!

/ Set my FEL expectations #3  
Lot more than ramming into pile and lifting to get a full load. Lift, curl and drive have to come together just right to make it happen and then not tip the load onto your own head. In ANY machinery there is a lot of finesse to get the most out of the machine.

/ Set my FEL expectations #4