Quick question

/ Quick question #1  

davedj1

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L2501
a
I have a Kubota L2501. I bought a hydraulic winch the other day which I am planning another logging winch build, I would like to test the winch so I came up with the idea of disconnecting the two quick connects for the loader curl function and using them to test the winch. Would this work long term? In other words, when I get to the woods I can un do the curl function and hook the winch to the quick connects.
Thoughts?
My other option is to buy a PTO hydraulic pump and incorporate a small reservoir into the winch and run it that way.

/ Quick question #2  
I am not an expert, but IMHo hydraulic is hydraulic. You just have to take care of flow and pressure. If it fits, then it will work

/ Quick question #3  
I wouldn't do that mount to the loader permanently. No matter how carefully you think you are being you'll be putting forces on your tractor and loader that it's just not built for.
For testing, I'm not sure what test your wanting to do other than seeing if the winch drum turns, but that should be fine.
A front frame or 3 point hitch, even the draw bar is where you need to be. 👍
Take us along if you do a build!
Member ptsg? has a thread here on a front frame mounted winch he built (very nicely too).

/ Quick question
I wouldn't do that mount to the loader permanently. No matter how carefully you think you are being you'll be putting forces on your tractor and loader that it's just not built for.
For testing, I'm not sure what test your wanting to do other than seeing if the winch drum turns, but that should be fine.
A front frame or 3 point hitch, even the draw bar is where you need to be. 👍
Take us along if you do a build!
Member ptsg? has a thread here on a front frame mounted winch he built (very nicely too).