PTO pump filter recommendations/pseudo-poll

/ PTO pump filter recommendations/pseudo-poll #1  

electrycmonk

Silver Member
Tractor
Satoh 370 diesel & Cub Cadet 7260 Diesel 4WD standard
I've reading up on PTO pump filter setups and I guess I want to ask what micron level you personally use on your PTO pumps?

I know how subjective this is and how anecdotes are very valid. I prefer them as it draws a better picture for me on what your environment is and why you chose a fine middle or coarse filter for your hydraulic system with the PTO pump.

The backhoe I got recently has a PTO pump and no filter at all. I've been looking at the different filter heads and sizes of filter.... Sheeesh, they are all over the map!

I have been using a bypass oil filter setup on my f350's for over 15 years now.... The 1 micron stuff. I know the micron level of the normal engine oil filters so, know that hydraulic filters are from ~10-50+ microns begs the metaphorical question: chocolate, strawberry, or vanilla --- or Neopolitan (rolls eyes at self).

/ PTO pump filter recommendations/pseudo-poll #2  
Some variables to consider when looking at filters
1) Filter location: inlet or suction vs return or pressure line.
2) type of components in a system. Manual valve and gear pump or piston pump with servo or proportional control valves.
3) system pressure higher pressure usually require finer filtration.
4) nominal or absolute filter rating. Absolute filter removes 95 percent or more of the rated particles size on single pass. Nominal are more of a reference number.

For a PTO pump on a back hoe I would look at 10 micron return line filter with flow rating at least two times greater than pump flow. This allows for higher flows returning from the cylinders

/ PTO pump filter recommendations/pseudo-poll #3