Need help with Ford 3000 generator rebuild

/ Need help with Ford 3000 generator rebuild #1  

dbritt

Tractor
Ford 3000 Diesel 1965
Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum. I hate to resort to asking for help, since I usually figure things out on my own. Eventually. But, this one has be stumped. I am restoring my old 3000 diesel that sat in an enclosed shop for the last 16 years without moving or being started. Everything has gone by the book until I got into the generator. I tore it down and had to clean out an unimaginable amount of dirt dauber nests and brown recluse spider skeletons. The generator worked the last time the tractor was running, but the bearings were making noise and the brushes are about half worn down, so I wanted to fix it up right while I am at it. I did a complete cleanup on all the parts, repainted the housing, end plates, fan, pulley, etc, and it all looked like new. But, when I reassembled it, I noticed that the commutator runs so close to the brush fixed brackets that it looks like it could actually be rubbing against them. If not, there's not a paper's width of clearance. Note that I can NOT say that it wasn't this way before I tore it down. It may have been, but I had no reason to check the clearance before disassembly began. I have a hard time believing it could have been that close without having issues.