MTL Post and Tree puller

/ MTL Post and Tree puller #1  

shooterdon

Elite Member
Near Johannesburg MI but in the middle of nowhere
Tractor
2019 LS XR4140 HST Cab; 2020 Kawasaki Mule SX; 2021 Bad Boy 54" ZT Elite
Recently received this and thought I would share my experience so far.

On the build, one of the zerk fittings requires a 90* fitting to reach. I need to find something to get to it and it will be a minor inconvenience that should not be there. Wish the bar to prevent tree from falling back was about 3 ft higher.

Tractor weighs 4500 bare weight and has the oversize turf tires with RimGuard (est. 700 lbs). 900 lbs of ballast on 3pt. 2700 lb capacity loader with 3800 lbs breakout force.

Pulling 4x4 posts and T posts is very easy.

Trees are problematic. I assume I will get better at it as I am still learning. But so far... Pulling mostly poplar. Under 2" it easy to cut through them completely. With 4"+, a lot of rocking back and forth is needed while pulling up to loosen things up. 3" trees are easier and some come out easy and some still need rocking action.

Unit was $850 delivered. I certainly could not have made one for that price so I consider it a good value.

It is difficult to see what you are doing so I am planning on mounting a camera. I have also thought about grinding a bevel on one of the jaws and using it as a shear for trees under 4" by driving the jaws just under the ground to eliminate small stumps sticking out and damaging tires.

/ MTL Post and Tree puller #2  
I bought something similar from Titan and have witnessed everything you mentioned. I too am going to mount a camera and display so that I can see what I’m doing.

/ MTL Post and Tree puller #3  
A tip I read on here somewhere is that on bigger trees, cut the tree off about 2 ft from the ground so you're not having to lift the weight of the tree and pull the root ball at the same time.

/ MTL Post and Tree puller #4