Haying

/ Haying #1  

Jim_C

Tractor
Kioti DK45
Since I am new at all this farming (start next spring) and want to minimize misteaks (hehe) what implement do I buy for my DK45 to cut hay.

As Always thanks for the help

Jim

/ Haying #2  
How much hay?
There has been much discussion over whether CUTs can or can't handle the stress of larger PTO driven implements like mocos and balers. I brought this up to a JD and a NH dealer when I was shopping a few years back and they both recommended a utility tractor over a CUT.
Not being familiar with KIOTI, I am not sure whether it's a CUT or just a UT.
You can buy a fairly decent sickle mower in used condition. They require little maintenance and are easy to use. Of course, you will need a tedder and a rake. A tedder will beat up alfalfa a little, but works exceptionally well with timothy and clover. You will also need a baler. Again you have the PTO debate and the volume of hay question. I would suggest an older New Holland Hayliner. They are reasonable in price and are virtually indestructible.

/ Haying #3  
How many acres, what kind of hay, what is the terrain, are you going to cut, rake, and bale or just cut, etc. We need alot more information and it would really help if your profile was filled out.

/ Haying
Sorry I guess I was just being lazy so my profile is now updated. My guess as to your question about acreage to hay would be about 10 to 15 early on decreasing in the future to about 5.

Thanks for the input it does help and I need all the help I can get

/ Haying #6  
Hiya Jim,