Grey Market Tractors

/ Grey Market Tractors #1  

twincorners

I give up.... what's a grey market tractor?

/ Grey Market Tractors #2  
Grey market tractors are tractors that were manufactured and sold for use in other countries instead of the USA (primarily Japan, I believe). They were used tractors that were imported into the country, and apparently many of them were good tractors, but they did not meet US safety standards (and I'm not sure about any EPA requirements). It is my understanding that no more are being imported now; that it is illegal to do so. In some cases, some owners have had problems obtaining parts for grey market tractors, and the new tractor dealers may or may not help.

And since I've had no experience with grey market tractors, can someone else explain better?

Bird

/ Grey Market Tractors #3  
In addition to what Bird said, some grey market tractors have odd PTO speeds, or reverse rotation. (Sometimes not safe for use with US implements.) Also, PTO shields are often not attached, the tractors usually won't have rollbars (ROPS) unless added in the US with a US equivalent's part, and often come with rice tires. These tires sometimes are odd sizes, which means you might have difficulty finding new tires down the road. Also, grey market tractors don't have English safety decals (tractors from Japan will have decals in Japanese).

Sometimes a grey market tractor will have a US equivalent... but often times there is no match. In the case that you have a grey market tractor with a US equivalent, you will have a much easier time obtaining parts for your tractor. Even still, not all dealers support grey market tractors, for various, understandable reasons.

If your grey market tractor does not have a US equivalent model, you are pretty much 'on your own' for parts and service.