Ever put your foot in your mouth?

/ Ever put your foot in your mouth? #1  

Wakey

Veteran Member
Tractor
John Deere Z915B Zero Turn 54 Deck
Some of us are better at this than others but I have a few good ones.

I had a client that was an empty nester and her husband still worked. I was over there every couple of months for something, it was a giant house.

She typically followed me around and we chatted while I was fixing whatever was broke.

I think she was a bit fascinated and I'm sure bored/lonely.

She asked "Do you like what you do?"

"Yeah, sure. I'm somewhere different each day and most of this I can do with ease."

I went on.. "Many people have jobs where they cringe when they run into coworkers or clients."

"Not me.." "It's not like I'm a lawyer!"

I realized she didn't have a comeback so I looked over at her and she had a blank stare.

"Wait, are you a lawyer??"

"Yes."

(They say when unintentionally digging a hole, STOP DIGGING!)

Not me, I can salvage this :laughing:

"Yeah, but not a defense attorney, right?" :ashamed:

"No, real estate"

"Yeah well, you know what I mean, right?"

The other was unfortunate as well.

While on a residential construction site they had 2 latino guys putting together a deck. I needed to know a few things about where I could wire some outdoor speakers. So I walked up to the older of the two and asked him if he spoke english.

"Yes, sure."

So I asked him a few simple questions and was amazed with his english.

So...

I complemented him.

He says "Dude, I'm from Arizona."

:ashamed:

"Oh, I figured you were an immigrant, they have so many..."

I'm an American Indian."

:ashamed:

He was nice about it, introduced me to his son, I didn't ask if he was a latino also :laughing:

/ Ever put your foot in your mouth? #2