DPF vs. NO DPF (75hp edition)

/ DPF vs. NO DPF (75hp edition) #1  

MinnesotaMorg

Silver Member
Tractor
Deutz Fahr 6130ttv
Hi there,

I am new to the tractor game, I am trying to take my time and absorb as much information I can before I pull the trigger on a tractor.

Can someone explain to me why some tractors (MF 4707 / NH Workmaster 75) don't need a DPF and others in the same class (5075e / M4D-071) have a DPF? Everything I can find indicates that DPF is not desirable and will only serve to increase your initial cost and maintenance over time.

The Kubota salesman I talked to said new holland might be using engine credits or something. But would that mean that the consumer is just better off taking advantage of the companies using those credits? Assuming everything else is equal, is it in my best interest to choose a tractor with no DPF?

Thanks for coming to my ted talk
Morgan

/ DPF vs. NO DPF (75hp edition) #2  
Most tractors over 26-horsepower use a Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) to meet Tier IV emission standards. This is not "news".

The less used alternative emission technology is Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC). In a DOC system exhaust heat is elevated all the time.

Both the DPF and the DOC are honeycomb ceramic filters.
The DOC forces engine exhaust over a honeycomb ceramic structure coated with platinum, palladium, and rhodium catalysts. These catalysts oxidize carbon monoxide and hydrocarbons into carbon dioxide and water at hot exhaust temperature.

Diesel particulates must be burned. THERE IS NO FREE LUNCH.

Tire wear and tire replacement will cause as many headaches and more expense than DPF for most long term compact tractor owners who comprehend their tractor's Operator's Manual and follow DPF procedures.

Tractors over 75-horspower require Diesel Exhaust Fluid (DEF).