D45

/ D45 #1  

ed3357

Tractor
John Deere H
I'm new to the tractor world, although I have an old tractor. I'm considering buying a D45, with front wheel drive and a loader. Mostly mowing and bailing and ground work, although I could see a need for the loader. I know it is gear drive, but more cost is important. Anyway, what are the pitfalls of this tractor, and what is a good price?
Thanks.

/ D45 #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( I'm new to the tractor world, although I have an old tractor. I'm considering buying a D45, with front wheel drive and a loader. Mostly mowing and bailing and ground work, although I could see a need for the loader. I know it is gear drive, but more cost is important. Anyway, what are the pitfalls of this tractor, and what is a good price?
Thanks. )</font>

The Case D45 is almost an exact copy of the New Holland TC45. These tractors are great utility tractors for mowing, loader groundwork/dirtwork, boxblading, post-hole digging, and many, many other tasks. They are not the ideal hay baling tractor and you may find them a little light for this task. If you have a small square baler and are planning on baling only a small number of bales, this tractor may be okay.

For more info, you might ask this same question in the New Holland Owning/Operating forum. That will broaden your number of responses and experience level.

I own a TC45D that is the same as the DX45, but I have never baled hay with it and would consider it more suited to pulling a hay wagon than the baler. I don't see any pitfalls to the tractor in general. If you are planning on putting a loader on it, I'd sure suggest doing that now. Your dealer can order a "loader-ready" tractor from the factory and that will save you some extra expense of having the dealer install all the hydraulics and undercarriage at a later time.

/ D45 #3  
It sure is a good looking unit. I checked one out last week.