Chain Guards

/ Chain Guards #61  
Re: Mwahahaha

<font color=blue>would of used some thicker, wider angle iron to move the front guard away from the blades</font color=blue>

Yep, I did that on the second set I made. And on the first set, when the chain was too close to the blades, I used longer bolts to hold the angle iron on, and put spacers (several washers) between the mower deck and the angle iron to move the chain guard out aways.

/ Chain Guards #62  

I am new to the bush hog gang and was looking over this thread. Have a half-baked idea for some words of wisdom about price and application. How about stretching a piece of regular chain tightly across the front and/or back, bolted in place for the horizontal component. Then use cross straps from a tire chain (cut in half) as your vertical chains. They would be easy to attach to the other chain. Not sure on the cost side, maybe someone had some input.

/ Chain Guards #63  

moeh1, the idea sounds logical, and might work. I used the cross chains from a set of tire chains on the first chain guard I made simply because I had some tire chains for which I had no other use, so I cut'em up with an air chisel, but welded them onto a piece of angle iron that I bolted to the deck on the brush hog. One (of several) things I didn't like was the fact that those cross chains are a twisted link chain and grass stuck in the links and stayed; hard to clean out. However, they did serve their main purpose of keeping the brush hog from launching projectiles.

/ Chain Guards #64  
Chain guards are defintly a good idea whether costly factory made or cheaper homemade ones. Found out the hard way last year after being hit in back of leg with a rock. Had to go to emergency room for xray felt like something was broken, Had swelling around achilles. Cost of emergency care and 3 days off work was not fun. Got hit in early august 2001, Finally quite hurting in January. So if you can't build it buy it,Well worth it.

/ Chain Guards #65