Case 450 Dozer Battery

/ Case 450 Dozer Battery #11  
Group 31 is so common in large machinery and trucks. My IH7500 takes 3 or 4 group 31’s.

/ Case 450 Dozer Battery #12  
As easy as MY Case 450 starts, almost any 12V battery will start it!

FOR SURE any 12V that will start a pu.

SR

/ Case 450 Dozer Battery
Ended up with a 4D battery after measuring the box. Battery is good and so is the starter. The bad news is that the combination won’t turn the poor old engine over. I’m afraid it had sat too long. I have zero diesel knowledge which doesn’t help my cause. If it was a gas engine, I’d pull the plugs and fill the cylinders with penetrating oil. Any suggestions on how to free it up?

/ Case 450 Dozer Battery #14  
I've never had to free up a stuck diesel like that. My understanding is that you pull the injectors - or I suppose you could also pull the glow plugs if it has them. Anyway to get access to fill the cylinders with your choice of a rust-busting penetrating oil.
Followed every few days with a socket on the crankshaft nut and a long socket wrench to try to get the crank to move a few degrees. But that is hearsay, not knowledge.

You may want to move this thread or restart it up at a more popular part of Tractorbynet.

A lot more people will see it there.

/ Case 450 Dozer Battery #15  
Ended up with a 4D battery after measuring the box. Battery is good and so is the starter. The bad news is that the combination won’t turn the poor old engine over. I’m afraid it had sat too long. I have zero diesel knowledge which doesn’t help my cause. If it was a gas engine, I’d pull the plugs and fill the cylinders with penetrating oil. Any suggestions on how to free it up?

What steps have you taken to verify the engine is actually seized?

/ Case 450 Dozer Battery
What steps have you taken to verify the engine is actually seized?