Boating idiots

/ Boating idiots #1  

daugen

Super Star Member
Tractor
in between now
1-year-old who became sick at sea picked up by U.S. Navy - CNN.com

I've been boating for about twenty years. Now I'm back down to a sixteen footer.
I was also a yacht broker in Ft. Lauderdale for three years while I took time off from wearing a suit.
So while I am primarily a powerboater, I do know something about sailboats, different models etc.

And I gotta tell you, crossing the Pacific in a 36 foot boat is seriously risky, and taking a one year old baby with you?
As often as kids get sick? Truly risking a catastrophe and I'm glad their baby is ok now.

I bet it cost over a hundred thousand dollars, maybe multiples of that, for our folks in uniform to respond.
And risk their lives doing it.

I see this as sheer stupidity and fervently wish these sailors would be charged with the bill of rescuing them.
They knowingly went in high risk's way, and now fa la la the taxpayers have to pay the consequences?

Anyone can get behind the wheel of a boat and literally head out anywhere, with zero experience and capability. That changes I believe around 60 feet in length or larger.
This family is in a 36 foot boat. It looks heavily built but it's still a monohull and not too new from the looks of it.
A thirty to fifty foot wave is not uncommon in a Pacific storm. Think Perfect Storm half size.

They have a right to do it. You bet. Even risking their children's lives. They would probably say we all do that driving
down the interstate on a family vacation.

Just seems unreasonable to be free AAA for these people.
We do have a deficit, right?

/ Boating idiots
yes, and we have plenty of it. People do dumb stuff or even right stuff and it all goes wrong.
And we have an amazing safety net in this country to help us out.
My point Brin was they created the risk by heading across the Pacific in a small sailboat with a one year old baby.