AC or DC?

/ AC or DC? #1  

orezok

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B7800
No not welders.

I'm looking at getting vertical metal cutting bandsaw. I'm seeing them with both AC and DC motors. Apparently the DC motors are speed variable. DC is more expensive. I'm just a hobbyist and probably would only use it several times a month when doing some "maker" stuff. I mostly use 1/8 to 1/4 material with an occasional piece of 3/8, so I'm not sure that variable is any advantage.

Thoughts?

/ AC or DC? #2  
Are they running a DC motor instead of having a mechanical speed adjustment?

/ AC or DC? #4  
AC is perfectly fine for what you describe. Most horizontal bandsaws have pulleys or a switchable gearbox to change speeds if you really need it. Not a precision tool, and if you don't use it that much then the extra coin for variable DC is a waste. I've cut everything from thin alum to 3/8" 304 stainless with my AC saw, with no issues. I just use the slow speed for the stainless.

/ AC or DC? #5  
Spend the extra $ on good blades.

/ AC or DC? #6  
If you want variable speed, find a 3 phase motor in the correct frame size and a cheap VFD but I don't think variable speed on a band saw would be worth the extra money. All i cut on one is metal tho

/ AC or DC? #7  
I have really old Craftsman Professional horizontal band saw, it only has one speed and when I got it it was in really sad shape, after nurturing it back to life (one issue was previous owner put blade on back ward) it has cut everything I can mount in vice.... Only issue I have to watch is the rate of drop (down pressure)..... For average home/ranch shop most elemental saw will do everything you probably need to do... Speed control is probably not necessary if you have proper teeth per inch blade for material thickness...

31649-A.jpg