4 miles 4 board horse fence. Rec: nail gun and fasteners requested Scrail vs Paslode

/ 4 miles 4 board horse fence. Rec: nail gun and fasteners requested Scrail vs Paslode #1  

Dadnatron

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 5100e with FEL
Over the next several years, I will be putting in our fence. I have a Wrag post driver on its way for posts, but I'm now trying to choose fasteners and nail gun.

I'm interested in the Scrail type fasteners but have no experience with them. The thing I like is the ring/thread shank security, speed of insertion vs screw, and ability to back them out with a screw gun. Things I don't like is collation won't work in Paslode gun.

Nail gun I am interested in is the Paslode XP cordless gas powered nailer for ease and not having to have a portable air compressor and hose.

I have no experience with pneumatic type nailers in any form. So don't have the experience to answer my questions.

Fence is Treated Southern yellow pine with either treated 1" poplar and/or oak boards. I'm guessing up to 3000 posts with 4 boards on each post. 6 nails at each butt end post per board and 3 nails at non butt posts. So, roughly 50k nails overall.

1. Are Scrail fasteners useful
2. Are Scrail fasteners useful enough to require purchase of a portable air compressor and appropriate nail gun? Doesn't have to be fancy, just enough to drive these collated nails. Paslode requires 3 1/4" max. Scrail doesn't make this length.
3. Is the ease of a Paslode 'connectionless' system worth the extra cost of fuel etc?
4. Would a Paslode system be expected to hold up for this job? Would anything else?
5. Everything associated with this fence will require a new purchase, and while budget is not a nothing concern, my biggest concerns are:
#1 ease of doing the job. I'd rather pay for a good eas/easier system than fight it and save a $.
#2 final results. I want this to hold board up as well as feasibly possible. Within reason.