2006 F-350 Dually brakes, regular vs drilled and slotted rotor replacement

/ 2006 F-350 Dually brakes, regular vs drilled and slotted rotor replacement #1  

Dadnatron

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 5100e with FEL
I have a new (to me) 2006 F350 4x4 DRW with pulsing brakes. I knew they needed changed when I bought it, hence the price I paid vs what I would have paid for a 'no work' truck.

20 years ago, I worked on everything I had almost completely. I have completely overhauled every nut and screw on a '68 Camaro and grew up working on everything we drove (along with my dad and Grandpa).

I know the that truck needs brake work. I know, given the pulsing, that it needs rotors and pads. I've not worked on truck brakes since around '84, but feel relatively confident I can change out the front rotors and pads without issue. I've never worked on rear rotors on a dually before, but have seen a couple YouTube videos on it and it seems pretty straight forward, other than insuring I buy the correct spindle nut socket.

I would appreciate any thoughts, nuggets, knowledge that would be helpful.

But the real reason I am posting is because I don't know whether the 'drilled and slotted' rotors are worth any more $$$ than straight plain rotors. As far as I know, we never had drilled and slotted rotors when I did this on our vehicles, so it was never an issue. But now, as I look at options online, I see them as options for this truck.

So... are drilled and slotted rotors worth anything in a 2006 F-350 4x4 DRW 'farm truck' used primarily for towing 10-14K loads? I don't want to spend more than I need, but if they (drilled) perform in a 'useful/$' manner, I'd like to know before I purchase and install.

And... Any recommendations on 'where and what to purchase' would be appreciated. There are many options, and I don't want to overspend or under-purchase if I can help it.