2000 Challenger MT265 death sentence?

/ 2000 Challenger MT265 death sentence? #1  

Half-a-Day Farm

Tractor
Challenger MT265
I've got one of these with coolant showing up in the crankcase. No noticeable smoke. Seems to run fine. Last year I noticed the temp creeping up which was unusual. I added coolant and the temp came right down but it made me suspicious because I could see no coolant leaks. I just did an oil/filter change and caught the oil. Yup. Coolant.

I'm looking through the $200 service /manual/ and have yet to determine if this Iseki E3CD engine (no oil cooler) has a wet sleeve. I am not a mechanic but I see a head gasket, a head, sleeve repair, or back to schlepping around with a wheel barrow and a shovel in my future.

Last edited:
   / 2000 Challenger MT265 death sentence? #2  
Sure it's not a parent bore? Southern Global's rebuild kit doesn't show any sleeves, only gaskets/pistons/rings/& bearings.

/ 2000 Challenger MT265 death sentence? #3  
I just did some engine work on an MT265 and it is parent bore. I am guessing that you may have a warped or cracked head. The head seems to be pretty stout so probably just a warp.

/ 2000 Challenger MT265 death sentence?
I just did some engine work on an MT265 and it is parent bore. I am guessing that you may have a warped or cracked head. The head seems to be pretty stout so probably just a warp.

@alexpops and TractorTech, thank you for that. I've got some studying to do, I don't know what a parent bore is. I'd like to fix this thing because it's pretty perfect for what we use it for. I paid 8K for it 3 years ago. It's 4wd and it's got the ML30 FEL on it and it came with a rotary cutter and box blade. It had 450 hours on it when I bought it and only 550 now. What I have to do now is find out exactly what's wrong and how much to fix it. It's pretty stout so a couple grand??? might be worth it. Thanks again.

/ 2000 Challenger MT265 death sentence? #6