Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Wow, the rear blade works great in the snow!

/ Wow, the rear blade works great in the snow! #1  

bandit67

Veteran Member
Tractor
2012 B3000 HSDCC 2020 Z251 Zero Turn
I finally got the chance to clear some snow yesterday and this morning. I've never used a rear blade on a tractor before this one, so I didn't know how it would do in the snow, pulling behind the machine. But, as others have mentioned in previous posts, it does a great job. The combination of the FEL and rear blade should work just fine with the snows we get.

Fortunately, I have quite a bit of asphalt, and the blade cleans down to the surface real nice. For the small amount of dirt/gravel I have to clear, I just use the blade facing backwards to keep from digging up the gravel and dirt.

I do understand why guys that spend their winters clearing snow in cold and blowing snow shell out $3-4k for a nice cab, even on a small machine. Can't justify it for the snow we get here at 5400', but if I were up in the mountains, I'd be shopping for a cab.

I think I may have to talk to some of the neighbors and see if I can make a little extra cash clearing some driveways since either they have to shovel by hand or pay someone to plow. Might as well be me. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Oh, I just realized I forgot to take some pics to add to my Webshots. I'll have to do that tonight.

/ Wow, the rear blade works great in the snow! #2  
bandit . . . it is always nice when things work!!!

If you get a heavy icy snow, you might find it easier to reverse the blade and push backwards. On light snows I found pulling the blade works, but when the slush falls and builds up, I've found it easier to push in reverse (of course, I usually use the blower, which is really a fun toy and I've often been found in neighbors driveways uninvited clearing them just because I love snow)

/ Wow, the rear blade works great in the snow! #3