when do you toss a cylinder?

/ when do you toss a cylinder? #1  

daugen

Super Star Member
Tractor
in between now
I have little experience with hydraulic cylinders, other than what I read in the Northern Tools catalog. Never had one break before.
And now on my new bucket/grapple, one of the two small upper cylinders is leaking nicely. Could well be operator abuse so I'm keeping an open mind.
Though the implement is seriously heavy duty otherwise.

What breaks on cylinders? Bending the rod? Pushing out an end seal?
Easily could have been some side pressures applied.
Just curious; headed in for warranty repair next week.
It's a small cylinder but hard to see in there due to the covers on top.

Are these things normally repairable, or if say the rod is bent, they head to get recycled?
thanks
Drew

Attachments

• P1010825.jpg
    P1010825.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 223
  • P1010843 (2).jpg
    P1010843 (2).jpg
    738.5 KB · Views: 221
  • P1010833.jpg
    P1010833.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 203
  • P1010828 (2).jpg
    P1010828 (2).jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 251
   / when do you toss a cylinder? #2  
Thats a bummer!

I've never messed one up so bad that it couldn't be fixed with the proper parts... Yet at least. :)

/ when do you toss a cylinder? #3  
I have little experience with hydraulic cylinders, other than what I read in the Northern Tools catalog. Never had one break before.
And now on my new bucket/grapple, one of the two small upper cylinders is leaking nicely. Could well be operator abuse so I'm keeping an open mind.
Though the implement is seriously heavy duty otherwise.

What breaks on cylinders? Bending the rod? Pushing out an end seal?
Easily could have been some side pressures applied.
Just curious; headed in for warranty repair next week.
It's a small cylinder but hard to see in there due to the covers on top.

Are these things normally repairable, or if say the rod is bent, they head to get recycled?
thanks
Drew

should be able to get a seal kit.