What to charge?

/ What to charge? #1  

paccorti

Gold Member
Tractor
TC35D with 16LA Loader
My neighbor wants me to re-grade his driveway. I've yet to look real closely at it but I expect to find:

1. not much gravel but many potholes
2. a high crown
3. relatively hard packed dirt

The driveway is approximately 700'. I have a good rear blade and teeth for the loader. My neighbor does not want to put down new gravel now but just wants me to get the crown of the road and potholes under control. I plan on walking the driveway with him to further judge the situation and set his expectations.

I don't want to charge him a premium for this job as I'm pretty new to it (thought I have graded the community's private road many times). What should I reasonably charge for this? I'd like to give him the option of putting down the gravel and grading it too. Ignoring, for the moment the cost of the gravel, what should I charge to put down and grade the gravel?

Thanks for any advice,

Peter

/ What to charge? #2  
One way to go about this is to estimate the time you think it will take to complete the job and then multiply it times what you would like to get per hour. Most of the research I have read indicates most want $25-$50 per hour. So if it takes 2 hours then you would charge $50-$100. Also my guess is that to rent the same equipment would at least cost $100+ so that should give you some direction. If you think there may be more jobs in the future, then give a little price break now to get more later.

Hope that helps.

Eric

/ What to charge? #3  
Whew..that s a tough question to answer since its your neighbor.
If it was I..I would charge 50% less than the going rate that other would charge to do the job,or maybe your hourly work wage plus a tank of diesel.
Treating your neighbor right could come in handy one day when you need to call upon him for a hand.

/ What to charge? #4  
Peter,