What do I need?

/ What do I need? #1  

tierbb

Tractor
ck30
I need some help as an amateur. I have a Kioti CK30 with a bucket and snowblower.

As a newbie I'm finding more and more I want to do.

Problem: I have a driveway 400 feet long. It grows crabgrass on the sides and with the rain and snow the pitch needs to be modified from time to time. I'd like to be able to dig up the crabgrass and remove it. With the need to correct the pitch I guess I'd like to generally maintain the driveway and parking areas on my property.

First, I thought a york rake was best, then came the back blade, now the box back blade. Maybe even a scarifer whatever that is.

Any advice on what I need.
Thanks Tierbb

/ What do I need? #2  
Scarifers are the teeth that stick down on a box blade. As for the crabgrass, I would just spray it with Trimec Plus - that will be much easier than trying to physically remove it.
Is your driveway and parking area gravel or dirt? When you say the pitch needs to be modified do you mean that it get's grooves in it and needs to be smoothed out? ANy/all of the implements you mentioned would probably do the job, it all depends on how aggressive you want to get. I would rank them form least to most aggressive this way: landscape rake, back blade, box blade. The box blade is probably your implement of choice here if it's dirt. If it's gravel then the box blade will mix the gravel with the dirt below (if you have the scarifiers down). Here's a link to a great publication that describes the mission of each implement: Guide to Compact Tractor Implements

/ What do I need? #3  
tierbb:

Welcome to TBN :D! I agree with Loogie. I have another question for you- what is the condition of your driveway and parking area during "Mud Season" :eek:?

/ What do I need? #4