Welding Helmet Fogs up

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #1  

dourobob

Platinum Member
Tractor
Wheel Horse 522xi
Help! I am a very new welder. I fact I have welded all of bout 10 minutes so far. I have a very patient friend who is doing his best to teach me some technique but I am reallty struggling with the welding helmet. I like the full face coverage but, I have a large, bushy beard (which my wife says can't be cut because she saw the pictures from 30+ years ago and that was enough /w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif) and unless I hold my breath (not too practical) the lens fogs up after a minute or so. I am still not used to trying to see through the very dark glass and the extra coverage from my exhaled breath really compounds the problem. I am really excited at the prospect of learning this new skill and would welcome any suggestions that could help me see what the heck I am doing.

Thanks
Bob

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #2  
Bob, it's a little like scuba diving... just breath as normal as possible, deep, but slowly.
And maybe a little of the anti fog product on the inside lens.

gary

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #3  
Just get some Fog-X by the makers of rain-X it's an anti-fog product that works. I've used it on the inside of my snowmobile helmet so I'm sure it will work with the welding helmet. <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.rainx.com/frame_auto_new.htm>http://www.rainx.com/frame_auto_new.htm</A>

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #4  
I have the same problem welding or snowmobiling, the trick is to breathe through your nose NOT your mouth. Hard to controll myself but works for me.

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #5  
I had the same problem, controlling your breathing help but I drilled a few holes in my helmet to exhauts my breath. This helped a lot

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #6  
Try warming the lens up. I keep my helmet were my shop heater blows on it.
Good luck and keep laying the beads down and you'll get better at it.
rick

/ Welding Helmet Fogs up #7