Rear Finish Mower Used Landpride finish mower price check

/ Used Landpride finish mower price check #1  

thefisherman

Tractor
2017 Massey Ferguson GC1715 DL95
I'm very new to the tractor and implement world. I've got my tractor picked out - GC1715 - and am picking out implements.

I'm trying to save a few bucks and am comparing a new Tar River (Chinese made I think) 57.5" rear finish mower @ $1300 from the dealer, or I just found a used Landpride FDR1560 for only $400. Now, it looks to be an older unit, but the owner says it needs nothing and cuts well. Personally I feel like an older US-made unit will probably be a better bet than a new import. I haven't checked it out in person yet, will try to do that this evening if I can leave work on time.

Is $400 a fair price? Is there anything in particular I should ask/look at?

fdr1560_1.jpg fdr1560_2.jpg fdr1560_3.jpg

/ Used Landpride finish mower price check #2  
One of my finish mowers that is still in service, is probably older then you are.
At $400 if the spindles aren't worn out, it will prob. last longer then your first tractor.

/ Used Landpride finish mower price check #3  
If the gear box is all good and spindles that mower is worth $400 all day long.. I would rather buy good condition older than new some times..

/ Used Landpride finish mower price check
One of my finish mowers that is still in service, is probably older then you are.
At $400 if the spindles aren't worn out, it will prob. last longer then your first tractor.

If the gear box is all good and spindles that mower is worth $400 all day long.. I would rather buy good condition older than new some times..

How would one go about checking spindles? Same as on a regular mower deck, just listen for any funny business when rotating: grinding, squeaking, resistance, etc.? How about the gearbox? I'd assume check the oil level to make sure it's not been run low, anything else?