Sprayer TSC Boom Sprayers

/ TSC Boom Sprayers #1  

Eric_Phillips

Platinum Member
Tractor
FarmTrac 270DTC
I am looking at Tractor Supply Company for a boom sprayer. They offer two in the 50-60 gallon range set up for a 3ph. One is a Fimco the other may be a store brand, there is no infomation on their web site. Any one have information positive or negative about either sprayer?

Thanks,
Eric

/ TSC Boom Sprayers #2  
Eric, I'm not sure whether you're talking about a PTO powered, or a 12 volt electric powered, sprayer. I've no experience with their PTO powered rigs, but the last I knew, the 12 volt ones used a Shurflo pump, which is basically the same pump as the one used for the water system in RVs. They're good pumps, and even if you do ever have a problem with it, they're easy to repair and the parts are cheap.

/ TSC Boom Sprayers
Yes both of these need PTO pumps. After looking closer I noticed that both of them come with out pumps. TSC has 6 roller PTO pump kits for $132 so I need to add this to the cost.

Eric

/ TSC Boom Sprayers #5  
Eric, the roller pumps are good ones if properly cared for. The biggest problem with them is corrosion if left unused and no liquid in them. Some people use oil; I used antifreeze. When I finished with mine, I'd pour Prestone in it. Next time I used it, I'd pour out the antifreeze first into a can and put it back in when I finished, if it wasn't going to be used for awhile. I used mine primarily for insecticide and if I intended to use it again within a week or two, I'd just leave it full of the insecticide. As long as it didn't have air in it, it wouldn't corrode. And if it's ever necessary, it's easy to repair or rebuild. Of course the roller pumps are capable of much higher pressure than the 12 volt pumps; i.e., 300 psi vs 60 psi approximately.

/ TSC Boom Sprayers #6  
Does it look like this? (see attachment.)