Truck Question

/ Truck Question #1  

walhondingMF

Silver Member
Tractor
2012 MF2400
Seems like the correct place for this question...

I have a 2015 Silverado with the electric steering. The steering seems, recently, to be softer. Maybe the smallest amount of play but it does have 128,000 miles. Everything under the truck is still tight and it still tracks pretty straight. The tires are old and I do need new ones. I have no experience with the electric steering so I do not know how aging would feel with it. Maybe an alignment but if it drifts in the slightest, it not specific to one side. Any input would be appreciated.

/ Truck Question #2  
How do you know the front end components are tight. I’ve changed both tie rod ends and sway bar end links that look good when they are on the vehicle but are obviously worn once you take them off. I think this is the case because the joints have a load on them and look tight.

/ Truck Question
I jacked it up and did my best to move everything as much as I could. I had someone turn the wheel and didn't see any play in anything. You do make a good point though.

/ Truck Question #4  
In addition to all the linkage and suspension parts, rack bushings, etc, worn tires can affect steering.

/ Truck Question #5  
It’s been years ago but I had ball joints go out on a car. With it jacked up hanging by the suspension i had a buddy get under a front tire with a very long breaker bar, about 4 feet long and pry on the tire, then you could see a little play in the joint. It sounds like tie rod ends to me but that’s a guess. Certain vehicles wear out certain parts, a little research may give you an idea of which ones.

/ Truck Question
Just from a quick observation, I did not see a rag joint.