Thank you Tractorbynet

/ Thank you Tractorbynet #1  

downsizingnow48

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B21
I want to say thank you very much for the great information on trailering small tractors. I recently towed my Kubota B21 with implements from Virginia to California. Not my line of work, I had no idea about type/size/design of trailer or how to tie down the tractor and implements. Listening to local folks in Virginia I had a range of differing opinions. I studied your forums for several weeks to learn more. In the end I made the trip with absolutely no issues. The setup and load was scrutinized by passing highway patrol officers in 8 states. Here is what I used. Pickup is F150 Ecoboost with 3.55 gears, 7200 GVW, 1350 payload, 15500 GVCW, 9600 tow weight, P series tires @ 44lbs. Trailer is PJ 14k 20' equipment trailer with LRE tires @ 80lbs. Load is B21, scraper, tiller, bucket, tools etc. Total tow weight 8300. Used 4 of Lowes G70 5/16 chains, cutting them in half with abrasive saw to get 8 10ft pieces. Two chains crossing under the front, two chains on the rear, one on the hoe bucket, one on the loader bucket. Plus one on each implement. Used 6200 lb ratchet binders. I used a Sherline tongue weight scale and adjusted the load repeatedly to make sure I had 10%-12% tongue weight. Used an Equalizer 12k WD hitch. Traveling at speed limits up to a max of 70 mph had no issues with bounce or sway. Checked the chains about every 50-100 miles, they loosened up repeatedly during the first two days but after that were tight all the way. Again, big thanks to TBN for being an excellent source of expertise.

PickupTrailer.jpg

/ Thank you Tractorbynet #2  
Welcome from NW Florida.

It looks like you did a great job of hauling. It's always better to err on the side of caution when tying down. Chain is cheaper than lost or busted equipment. Glad you made it.

That is a good looking rig you have there. If I didn't have so many trees, I would check into a cover for my B7500.