Snow Attachments Snow removal with back blade

/ Snow removal with back blade #1  

ThisldooFarm

Tractor
B7800
Help. Have 500 foot driveway. Six foot backblade. How do I keep from digging up gravel and/or blacktop? I have thought of 4x4 skids held on with U-bolts. Perhaps have shoes welded on. I have heard of using pipe, but I do not know how. How to get to bottom, without damaging surface. Any ideas for next winter. Got 125" this year.
Thanks

/ Snow removal with back blade #2  
Fred, do you use the FEL at all for snow removal? It takes time but works

/ Snow removal with back blade #3  
Thisldoo,

I am no expert by far on removing snow, but all I did was reverse my blade. We didn't really get any snow this year, but last year we got about 16" at one time and that is what I did. I scraped about 700' of drive like that (from road all the way to neighbor behind me). Still left about 2 - 3" on ground, but you could drive on it and it did not dig up the rock. It just kind of pushed it out of the way. Just my 2 cents.

Fig

/ Snow removal with back blade #4  
I agree with Fig. Spin ur blade around 180 degrees. May need to find weights to add to it as the new shape will give it a tendency to lift instead of dig in.

Some do add skids, as you mentioned. In fact this might be better if you are trying to get the snow to roll off the blade (which is harder with it backwards)

I would try plowing in reverse, and if it works out ok, turn ur blade around, drive forward, and give ur neck a break. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif If the snow doesnt move out of the way, might be time for skids

/ Snow removal with back blade #5  
Spin the blade around so that it is reversed, but at an angle so the snow pushes off to one side. Drive backwards pushing the snow in reverse.