Oil & Fuel Smoking when cold started

/ Smoking when cold started #1  

Pacifictimes

Tractor
Terramite T5C
I bought this T5C a couple months ago, it had about 1400 hours on it now. It was poorly maintained, but heavely used. I found the engin (honda 20 hp) oil blacker than black and a little low, not dangerously but low. So I replaced the oil and filter with recommended products. So after about another 6 or 8 hours of run time I started noticing on cold starts smoke bellowing out, in 5 or 10 seconds after its running the smoke clears and all's will. . . Was there some STP in the old oil? Am I doing something wrong, and screwing up my machine? I am a complete novice, but very mechanical, what's up?

/ Smoking when cold started #2  
:thumbsup:Are sure you used the correct weight and class of oil? Has the temps. changed since you started seeing the smoke? Some times diesels smoke a little from unburned fuel when cold,as long as the fluid levels stay stabil you are probably ok. Maybe someone who is more experinced than me has more ideas.

/ Smoking when cold started
This little motor is gas, and the temptures here are very stable around mid to upper 40's F.

/ Smoking when cold started #4  
Sounds as if the rings are worn or may be sticking until the engine warms. What does the new oil look like now with a few hours on it? Are the spark plugs wet with oil? You may have to live with it or rebuild.

I am actually ok with living with it, just want to make sure I am not doing some novice, blatent dumb thing to screw up this little tractor (I love it).