Rotary Cutter Rotary Mower Shear Pin Help

/ Rotary Mower Shear Pin Help #1  

alexsbuddy

Gold Member
Tractor
LS XG3037 w/ LS LL3109 FEL Kodiak SD5 Mower, Speeco Model 65 PHD, Bush Hog BX-600 Box Blade, Titan 42" Skid Steer Pallet Fork/Hay Spear Combo
I have a new Kodiak STD 60" 3-pt rotary mower and need to replace the shear bolt. Problem is.....I have never done this before, the manual does not cover this, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to get around all of the shields to get at it. Below is a picture of the gearbox and shields. Any recommendations, suggestions, and/or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

• 20160716_184949.jpg
    20160716_184949.jpg
    4.7 MB · Views: 2,707
   / Rotary Mower Shear Pin Help #2  
Are you sure it has shear pin? Looks like someone put the shaft on backwards.

/ Rotary Mower Shear Pin Help
Yes, it definitely has a shear pin...found the pieces of it when I opened the little flap access doors on the large outer shield that this attached to the gearbox.

/ Rotary Mower Shear Pin Help #4  
You need to turn the shaft so the hole will line up to put a new bolt in. The shaft should turn & the yoke on the gear box should pretty much stay in place, it may need to be turned to find a easy workable position. The shield should have plastic pins/clips to remove to slide it down the shaft, if not, your going to gave fun getting the bolt & nut back in & tightening it.
Can you post a pic at the PTO with it hooked up on the tractor?

Ronnie

/ Rotary Mower Shear Pin Help
Success! After doing some more research and sleeping on it, I finally figured it out. Here is what I did:
* The long cone shield on the shaft at the gearbox end is held on by a plastic retaining ring with clips. I had to depress the clips and then I was able to slide the long cone shield and shaft shield (as one piece) down the pto shaft. This allowed me better access to inside the gearbox shield.