REVERSE OSMOSIS

/ REVERSE OSMOSIS #1  

rScotty

Tractor
Kubota M59, JD530, JD310SG. Restoring Yanmar YM165D
Are there any experts in RO systems out there? I've got some questions and don't have the slightest idea where to go for answers.
rScotty

/ REVERSE OSMOSIS #2  
I’m not an expert but I’ve owned a few. RO was basically developed for lab and industrial use, but people started using them for drinking water. The units with pressure pumps work a little better. You may also need a water softener, because they don’t like hard water.

/ REVERSE OSMOSIS
I’m not an expert but I’ve owned a few. RO was basically developed for lab and industrial use, but people started using them for drinking water. The units with pressure pumps work a little better. You may also need a water softener, because they don’t like hard water.

Thanks, marchanna.
Oh, I guess I should have specified that what I'm looking for is just for drinking water. We're on a well so I already treat and test our water. The water is moderately hard, but we prefer that to soft water.

Did some of the ROs that you tried not work? For that matter, how would you know if it was working or not? What is it about a pressure pump that makes it work better? - better how?

And do you know anything about the RO filters themselves? Are there different grades of filters? There are half a dozen or more different brands of undersink RO units available, but it looks like they It looks like they all use the same filter.

I'm generally good with technology, but can't seem to find much info on household reverse osmosis. I wonder if it really works at all?
rScotty

/ REVERSE OSMOSIS #4  
   / REVERSE OSMOSIS #5